So, you want to give recreational pot a try, eh? Well, there’s a few things you should know before making your way to one of the four legally recreational states here in the US, and we’re going to take a hit on some of the most important ones. The first of the four states to go recreational, (and one of our personal favorites) Colorado, has set the bar for what a state and its residents can expect when it’s their time to make the transition. We’re finally seeing what life is like with the freedom to purchase your bud legally – without a prescription, and it goes a little something like this…

3 Facts About Recreational Marijuana You Must Know

How old do you have to be to purchase pot? If you’re 18 years or older and a valid resident of the state, a doctor can prescribe you a medical card which will allow you to purchase and possess legally. Want to buy recreationally as a visitor? Out-of-staters’ with no medical prescription must be 21 years or older to purchase and possess marijuana, but only need one valid form of ID to do so.

How much can I buy recreationally? While non-residents of the recreational state can purchase legally, the amount allowed per transaction is restricted to a quarter ounce or 7 grams. This law was made to prevent visitors from shop-hopping from one retailer to the next and stockpiling up on product for exporting. Residents of the state may however purchase up to one ounce per transaction, and in some cases hold up to eight ounces for personal use.

How pricey is recreational pot? Well, the day of the dime bag is over. With tax rates upwards of 20%, the price on recreational marijuana has been seen coming in much higher than the medically available product which is reserved for residents with a prescription. For example, pricing in Denver has increasingly began to become more competitive, with quarters ranging from around $60 bucks, before the nearly 22% tax is added (an additional $13.00) which is remarkably low compared to rates last Spring, which topped the charts at nearly $50 a gram in some areas.

Is it worth it? Here’s the deal, we’re witnessing history. We’re living through one of the greatest prohibitions that has ever occurred. Despite being able to legally medicate, having the ability to recreationally enjoy pot and its products is well worth every penny – stiff tax and all. Remember, medicate responsibly.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Pueblo & Trinidad
Colorado Dispensary
Age Verification

The Spot 420 is a Colorado recreational dispensary that operates in accordance with state laws regarding access to cannabis. You must be at least 21 years old in order to enter this site.
Are you at least 21 years of age?

Yes, Enter Site

No, Take Me Back